COP27: Joint Action to meet the 1.5 Degree Target

All articles

G7: Progress for a fair world

All articles

How to feed the world

All articles

With the special initiative "One World Without Hunger" (SEWOH), the German government has set an example. Dirk Schattschneider, Commissioner for the Special Initiative at the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) on achievements to date, lessons learned and the future of SEWOH.

With its special initiative for “ONE WORLD – no Hunger”, the German federal government issued a clear statement of intention. Soon commonly known as “SEWOH”, the initiative provided the opportunity to react flexibly within budgeting regulations and make an extensive contribution to fulfilling SDG 2. The political calendar provided various occasions to engage the international community through Germany’s G7 and G20 presidencies. The fact that the number of people suffering from hunger has increased since then does not undermine SEWOH’s efforts. Instead, it underpins the call to further intensify efforts on the national, European and global levels. The calendar still offers good vantage points. Great expectations rest on the United Nations Food Systems Summit, and in 2022 Germany will again take over the G7 presidency.

In order to make rural areas fit for the future and to sustainably improve the nutrition of many people, innovative approaches and solutions are needed. That is why SEWOH has created Green Innovation Centers, thereby providing important impetus for progress and innovation.

Perspectives must be created and existing potentials in the agricultural and food sector must be intensified so that people have the courage to pursue their future in rural areas. In its projects, the SEWOH promotes a comprehensive approach that focuses in particular on the needs of young people.

Unresolved land ownership and rights of utilisation contribute to hunger and poverty and lead to conflicts over land, especially in Africa. The SEWOH therefore promotes various approaches to eliminate conflicts over land and to ensure responsible and sustainable agricultural land use.

COP27: Gemeinsames Handeln für das 1,5-Grad-Ziel

Alle Beiträge

G7: Fortschritt für eine gerechte Welt

Alle Beiträge

Wie man die Welt ernährt

Alle Beiträge

Mit der Sonderinitiative „EINEWELT ohne Hunger“ (SEWOH) hat die Bundesregierung Zeichen gesetzt. Dirk Schattschneider, Beauftragter der Sonderinitiative im Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit (BMZ) über die bisherigen Erfolge, Erfahrungen und die Zukunft der SEWOH.

Mit der Sonderinitiative „EINEWELT ohne Hunger“ hat die Bundesregierung Zeichen gesetzt. Die „SEWOH“, wie sie bald hieß, bot haushaltsrechtlich die Chance, sehr flexibel zu agieren und umfassende Beiträge zu SDG2 zu leisten. Politisch bot der Kalender die Chance, über die deutschen G7- und G20-Präsidentschaften die globale Staatengemeinschaft einzubinden. Dass die Zahl der Hungernden seitdem dennoch weiter gestiegen ist, spricht nicht gegen die SEWOH, sondern ist vielmehr die Aufforderung, die gemeinsamen Anstrengungen auf nationaler, europäischer und globaler Ebene weiter zu intensivieren. Auch hierfür bietet der politische Kalender gute Anknüpfungspunkte: Große Erwartungen ruhen auf dem UN Food Systems Summit, und 2022 wird Deutschland wieder die G7-Präsidentschaft übernehmen.

Um ländliche Räume fit für die Zukunft zu machen und die Ernährung vieler Menschen nachhaltig zu verbessern, bedarf es innovativer Ansätze und Lösungen. Die SEWOH hat diese Erkenntnis in Form der geschaffenen Grünen Innovationszentren aufgegriffen und gibt wichtige Impulse für Fortschritt und Innovation.

Damit Menschen den Mut schöpfen, ihre Zukunft im ländlichen Raum zu verwirklichen, müssen Perspektiven geschaffen und bestehende Potenziale im Agrar- und Ernährungsbereich intensiviert werden. Dabei fördert die SEWOH in ihren Projekten einen umfassenden Ansatz, der allen voran die Bedürfnisse junger Menschen in den Fokus rückt.

Ungeklärte Land- und Nutzungsrechte begünstigen Hunger und Armut und führen insbesondere in Afrika zu Konflikten um Grund und Boden. Die SEWOH fördert deshalb verschiedene Ansätze, um Konflikte um Land zu beseitigen und eine verantwortungsvolle nachhaltigen landwirtschaftliche Nutzung sicherzustellen.