Gender

A contribution by Dr. Karin Gaesing and Prof. Dr. Frank Bliss (INEF)

Especially in densely populated areas, land pressure leads to overexploitation of available land and a lack of conservation measures. The West African country of Benin, with heavily depleted soils in many places, is no exception.

Digital exhibition

Women make the difference. Their potential for advancing rural development is enormous - and yet often remains untapped. We want to change that. Meet seven women who are changing their villages, provinces and countries - real "game changers".

When social shocks and disasters occur, school meals provide a strong incentive for families to keep sending their girls to school. © WFP/Nyani Quarmyne

A contribution by Carmen Burbano de Lara (WFP)

Besides the well known impacts of Covid19 lockdowns for the adult population, the associated school closures led to 90 percent of the world’s children with no access to schools. However, school meals are in often the only daily meal for children. Without access to this safety net, issues like hunger, poverty and malnutrition are exacerbated for hundreds of millions of children.

(c) Christoph Pueschner/Zeitenspiegel
Somalia / Mogadischu, Juli 2011: diese Frau floh mit ihren Kindern aus dem 250 Kilometer entfernten Baidoa in das IDP-Camp Al-Hidaaya. © Christoph Püschner/Zeitenspiegel

A contribution by Lisa Hücking (WHH)

Chancellor Merkel has begun an ambitious European political programme: Striving for compromise in budget negotiations, an orderly Brexit as well as an appropriate response to the corona crisis. Unfortunately, one of her positions that she previously held is nowhere to be found: Africa's prosperity is in the interest of Europe. 

Interview with Léa Rouanet

African countries still face huge gender gaps in terms of access to work and capital. What are the consequences of Corona for women in Africa? Jan Rübel interviewed Léa Rouanet on lockdowns and gender-based violence. The economist works at the Africa Gender Innovation Lab of the World Bank.

A contribution by Beatrice Gakuba (AWAN-AFRIKA)

Africa has a huge opportunity to make agriculture its economic driver. However, the potential for this is far from being made exhaustive use of, one reason being that women face considerable difficulties in their economic activities. The organisation AWAN Afrika seeks to change this state of affairs.

A contribution by Carsta Neuenroth (BfdW)

The majority of producers in developing countries are women. Although they contribute significantly to the food security of their families, they remain chronically disadvantaged in male-dominated agriculture in terms of access to land, credit, technology and education.

A contribution by Nadine Babatounde and Anne Floquet (MISEREOR)

To prevent malnutrition among young children and strengthen the role of women in their communities, Misereor, together with the local non-governmental organisation CEBEDES, is implementing a programme on integrated home gardens in Benin - a series of pictures.

Ost-Kongo / Schulkinder und ihre Lehrerin auf einem Schulhof der 40.000 Einwohnerstadt Kaina.

A contribution by Jan Rübel

What happens when young people leave the rural areas? How can the region achieve what is referred to as the demographic bonus – and how can it reap the benefits of the demographic dividend? A look at demography shows the following: What is most important is promoting women’s rights and education.

(c) Privat

A contribution by Agnes Kalibata

Agnes Kalibata, AGRA president since 2014 and former minister of agriculture and wildlife in Rwanda, is convinced that Africa's economy will only grow sustainably if small-scale agriculture is also seen as an opportunity.

Stephan Exo-Kreischer ist Deutschland-Direktor der Lobby- und Kampagnenorganisation ONE.

Interview with Stephan Exo-Kreischer

This is a benchmark for everybody: More rights for women are a very influencing solution in the struggle against extreme poverty and hunger worldwide, says Stephan Exo-Kreischer, Director of ONE Germany. The organisation specialises in political campaigning as a lever for sustainable change.

Gender

Ein Beitrag von Dr. Karin Gaesing und Prof. Dr. Frank Bliss (INEF)

Insbesondere in dicht besiedelten Gebieten führt Landdruck zu einer Übernutzung der verfügbaren Flächen und einem Mangel an Konservierung. Das westafrikanische Benin mit vielerorts stark ausgelaugten Böden bildet hierbei keine Ausnahme.

Ein Beitrag des INEF und der Kindernothilfe

Die Förderung kleinbäuerlicher Frauengruppen über Selbsthilfe-Ansätze leistet einen entscheidenden Beitrag zur ökonomischen Stärkung der ländlichen Betriebe. Über die Organisation und die verbundenen Gruppenaktivitäten kann extreme Armut reduziert und die Ernährungssituation verbessert werden.

Eine digitale Ausstellung

Frauen machen den Unterschied. Ihr Potenzial, ländliche Entwicklung wirklich voranzubringen, ist enorm - und bleibt häufig ungenutzt. Diese destruktive Ungerechtigkeit wollen wir nicht hinnehmen. Lernen Sie hier sieben Frauen kennen, die ihre Dörfer, Provinzen, Länder verändern - sie sind echte "Game Changers".

When social shocks and disasters occur, school meals provide a strong incentive for families to keep sending their girls to school. © WFP/Nyani Quarmyne

Ein Beitrag von Carmen Burbano de Lara (WFP)

Neben den bekannten Folgen der Corona-Maßnahmen für Erwachsene, führten Schulschließungen dazu, dass weltweit 90 Prozent der Kinder nicht mehr die Schule besuchen konnten. Schulmahlzeiten sind jedoch vielerorts die einzige Mahlzeit für Kinder. Ohne Zugang zu diesem Sicherheitsnetz verschärfen sich für hunderte Millionen Kinder Hunger, Armut und Mangelernährung.

Interview mit Léa Rouanet

In afrikanischen Ländern besteht nach wie vor ein enormes geschlechtsspezifisches Gefälle beim Zugang zu Arbeit und Kapital. Was sind die Folgen von Covid-19 für die dortigen Frauen? Jan Rübel befragte Léa Rouanet zu Lockdowns und genderbasierter Gewalt. Die Ökonomin arbeitet im Africa Gender Innovation Lab der Weltbank.

Ein Beitrag von Beatrice Gakuba (AWAN-AFRIKA)

Afrika hat hervorragende Voraussetzungen, Landwirtschaft zu seinem Wirtschaftsmotor zu entwickeln. Doch das Potential dafür wird bei weitem nicht ausgeschöpft, unter anderem weil Frauen bei der Ausübung ihrer wirtschaftlichen Tätigkeit auf erhebliche Hindernisse treffen. Die Organisation AWAN Afrika will diesen Umstand ändern.

Ein Beitrag von Carsta Neuenroth (BfdW)

Die Mehrheit der Produzierenden in Entwicklungsländern sind Frauen. Obwohl sie maßgeblich zur Ernährungssicherheit ihrer Familien beitragen, sind sie in der männerdominierten Landwirtschaft nach wie vor chronisch benachteiligt beim Zugang zu Land, Krediten, Technologien und Bildung.

Ein Beitrag von Nadine Babatounde und Anne Floquet (MISEREOR)

Um Mangelernährung bei Kleinkindern vorzubeugen und die Rolle der Frauen in ihren Gemeinschaften zu stärken, setzt Misereor gemeinsam mit der lokalen Nichtregierungsorganisation CEBEDES ein Programm zu integrierten Hausgärten in Benin um - eine Bilderstrecke.

Ost-Kongo / Schulkinder und ihre Lehrerin auf einem Schulhof der 40.000 Einwohnerstadt Kaina.

Ein Beitrag von Jan Rübel

Was passiert, wenn junge Leute den Ländlichen Raum verlassen? Wie erreicht eine Region den so genannten demografischen Bonus – und wie erntet sie die demografische Dividende? Eine Reise in die Welt der Bevölkerungswissenschaft zeigt: Am wichtigsten ist die Stärkung von Frauenrechten und Bildung. 

(c) Privat

Ein Beitrag von Agnes Kalibata (AGRA)

Agnes Kalibata, seit 2014 Präsidentin der AGRA und ehemalige Ministerin für Landwirtschaft und Wildbestände in Ruanda, ist davon überzeugt, dass Afrikas Wirtschaft nur dann nachhaltig wachsen wird, wenn auch kleinteilige Landwirtschaft als Chance begriffen wird.

Stephan Exo-Kreischer ist Deutschland-Direktor der Lobby- und Kampagnenorganisation ONE.

Interview mit Stephan Exo-Kreischer

Das ist der Maßstab für alle: Mehr Rechte für Frauen bilden einen entscheidenden Schlüssel im Kampf gegen extreme Armut und Hunger weltweit, sagt der Deutschland-Direktor von ONE. Die Organisation ist auf politische Kampagnen als Hebel für nachhaltige Veränderung spezialisiert.