„Game Changers – Women in Agriculture“

Women make all the difference. The potential of women to make a positive contribution to rural development is enormous. Despite all of the progress that has been made, women’s capabilities remain underappreciated, often unused.  We want to change that!! And you can help: Tell us about the pioneering women you know. The women who are transforming their villages, their provinces, even their countries. We are looking for seven women who are bringing about lasting change. The real “game changers”. Nominate one and you can help us find all seven.

 

What is this all about?

We are looking for women in agriculture who have changed their environment for the better. With their innovative ideas and outstanding commitment to sustainable agriculture and rural development, these women are role models. We want to recognize them.

“Game Changers – Women in Agriculture” will honour these women, who work in one of the partner countries from the ONE world – No Hunger initiative in Africa, Asia or Latin America for their dedication and commitment. The award aims to show how the advancement of women can benefit development cooperation, making it even more effective.

Winners of the prize will have their inspiring stories told online on a unique multimedia web page. They will be featured in a travelling exhibition and social media campaign, with additional background information provided in each case.

 

Who can be nominated (eligibility)?

We invite our international ONE World - No Hunger initiative partners to help us find seven “Game Changers – Women in Agriculture,” women who deserve recognition for their achievements. Nominations can be submitted by partners and sponsors of the ONE World – No Hunger initiative from Germany or any partner country, including:

 

  • non-governmental organisations
  • research institutes
  • corporations
  • our implementing partners KfW and GIZ
  • committed private individuals
  • women can also nominate themselves

 

What kind of women are we looking for?

The ideal candidate for nomination as a game changer should fulfil the following  criteria:

  • She has benefitted from or helped organise a cooperation or advancement as part of the ONE World - No Hunger special initiative;
  • She plays a key role in shaping rural development and supporting changes in agriculture, for example as a successful agri-entrepreneur, as a leading light within the management of an organisation, as a researcher within an agriculture-related field or as an innovative lateral thinker or thought leader;
  • She has successfully implemented an idea, method or technique that will have a lasting effect – within her village or region, or nationally, regionally or globally;
  • She is a role model for women, both within her field and elsewhere;
  • She is keen to share her story and in doing so, motivate others;
  • Through her dedication, she has contributed to increased sustainability in ecological, economic and social terms.

 

How will we choose the game changers from among the nominees?

  1. The women who are to receive the award in 2020 will be chosen from among the nominees according to the criteria above by an international, independent jury of women active in the field of international rural development and development cooperation by the end of June 2020. All three dimensions of sustainability (ecological, economic and social) are represented through the key areas of work of individual jury members themselves.

  2. The seven “game changers” will be announced by the jury at the beginning of July on this website. There are plans for a virtual award ceremony.

  3. Between July and September we shall be working intensively with the women, helping them prepare their stories for an exhibition and a multimedia web page.

  4. The plan is to officially launch the Game Changers stories on World Food Day on October 16 in Germany.

 

What’s in it for the winners?

The seven winners will each receive a funding package worth EUR 1,500 in total towards advanced or continuing education or training. We shall be helping the individual winners decide which type of package is most suited to them or their group/organization.

 

Why women?

SDG2 (No Hunger) and SGD5 (Gender Equality) are very closely linked. In rural areas in particular, women are key to the achievement of sustainable development and play a central role in bringing about economic, ecological and social change.

The empowerment of women is of huge importance for the wellbeing and prosperity not only of individuals but also of families and rural communities, as well as for food security. According to the estimates of the Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO), up to 150 million people worldwide could be saved from hunger, if women in agriculture in developing countries had the same resources and possibilities at their disposal as men. If we support the advancement of women in agriculture, all our development work will have a much greater prospect of lasting results and effects.

10 years before the target year (2030) for sustainable development goals (SDGs) there is some success to report but in many areas women are still not treated equally to their male peers. They are less well served in the areas of property rights and participation rights and it is harder for them to access resources. They are less valued, and in many places suffer from greater food insecurity than men.

How will giving women more opportunities strengthen the effects of development cooperation in rural areas? What progress for SDG2 and rural development is possible through the better promotion of equality? The “Game Changers” process is providing answers to this, as well as inspiration.

 

To submit a nomination:

Follow the "Submit a nomination" link and fill in all fields on the form.
Submissions will be accepted up until June 14th, 2020.

 

Submit nomination

 

 

Who is behind “Game Changers – Women in Agriculture”?

“Game Changers – Women in Agriculture” was initiated by the German Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ). The Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit GmbH (GIZ) has been commissioned by BMZ with the implementation and coordination of the “Game Changers” process.

 

For further information, please contact sector project Sustainable Rural Areas, Rural.Development@giz.de. Contact person: Dorothea Hohengarten.

 

Please also note:

The monetary value of the prize cannot be claimed as a cash or electronic payment in lieu. The prize cannot be returned or refunded. The right to claim the prize is not transferable.  The jury’s decision is final and there is no further recourse to legal action.

„Game Changers – Women in Agriculture“

Frauen machen den Unterschied. Ihr Potenzial, ländliche Entwicklung voranzubringen, ist enorm - und bleibt doch häufig ungenutzt. Das wollen wir ändern. Wir möchten mit Ihnen von sieben Frauen lernen, die es geschafft haben. Diese Frauen verändern ihre Dörfer, Provinzen, Länder. Sie gestalten nachhaltigen Wandel. Sie sind echte „Game Changers“. Helfen Sie uns mit Ihrer Nominierung, diese sieben Frauen zu finden!

 

Worum geht es?

Wir suchen Frauen aus dem ländlichen Raum, die ihr Umfeld positiv verändert haben — durch ihre innovative Idee und ihr herausragendes Engagement für nachhaltige Landwirtschaft und ländliche Entwicklung.

Die Frauen sind Vorbilder und sind in den Partnerländern der Sonderinitiative EINEWELT ohne Hunger in Afrika, Asien oder Lateinamerika tätig. Die Auszeichnung würdigt sie und ihren Einsatz. „Game Changers – Women in Agriculture“ will zeigen, wie Entwicklungszusammenarbeit durch Frauenförderung noch erfolgreicher wirken kann.

Die inspirierenden Geschichten der Preisträgerinnen werden über eine Multimediaseite, eine Wanderausstellung und eine Social Media-Kampagne erzählt und mit Hintergrundinformationen unterlegt.

 

Wer kann Frauen vorschlagen?

Wir laden die internationalen Partner der Sonderinitiative EINEWELT ohne Hunger ein, gemeinsam sieben „Game Changers – Women in Agriculture“ auszuzeichnen. An der Nominierung der Frauen können sich Partner und Projektträger der Sonderinitiative EINEWELT ohne Hunger beteiligen:

  • Nichtregierungsorganisationen
  • Forschungseinrichtungen
  • Unternehmen
  • die Durchführungsorganisationen KfW und GIZ
  • engagierte Privatpersonen

aus Deutschland und allen Partnerländern. Frauen können sich auch selbst nominieren.

 

Was für Frauen suchen wir?

Eine Frau, die als „Game Changer“ nominiert werden kann, sollte folgende Kriterien (Auswahlkriterien) erfüllen:

  • Sie hat von Kooperation bzw. Förderung im Rahmen der Sonderinitiative EINEWELT ohne Hunger profitiert oder diese mitgestaltet
  • Sie gestaltet ländliche Entwicklung und landwirtschaftlichen Wandel maßgeblich mit – z.B. als erfolgreiche Agripreneurin, als Führungspersönlichkeit einer Organisation, als Forscherin mit Landwirtschaftsbezug oder als innovative Quer-/Vordenkerin.
  • Sie ist erfolgreich mit einer guten Idee, Methode, Technik und hat damit nachhaltige Wirkung erzielt — im Dorf, in der Region, landesweit, regional oder global
  • Sie ist ein Vorbild für Frauen in ihrem Umfeld oder auch anderswo.
  • Sie hat Interesse, ihre Geschichte zu teilen und dadurch andere zu motivieren.
  • Sie leistet mit ihrem Engagement einen Beitrag zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit (in ihren drei Dimensionen ökologisch, wirtschaftlich und sozial.

 

Wie werden aus den Nominierungen die „Game Changers“ ausgewählt?

  1. Eine international besetzte unabhängige Jury von engagierten Frauen aus der internationalen ländlichen Entwicklung und Entwicklungszusammenarbeit wählt anhand der oben genannten Auswahlkriterien Ende Juni 2020 aus den Nominierungen die Frauen aus, die ausgezeichnet werden sollen. Die Jurymitglieder stehen mit ihren Arbeitsschwerpunkten selbst für die drei Dimensionen der Nachhaltigkeit (ökologisch, wirtschaftlich, sozial).
  2. Anfang Juli werden die sieben „Game Changers – Women in Agriculture“ durch die Jury auf dieser Website bekannt gegeben. Eine virtuelle Preisverleihung ist in Planung.
  3. Zwischen Juli und September arbeiten wir mit den Frauen intensiv zusammen, um ihre Geschichten aufzuarbeiten - für eine Ausstellung und eine Multimediaseite.
  4. Anlässlich des Welternährungstags am 16. Oktober ist der offizielle Launch der „Game Changers“-Geschichten in Deutschland geplant.

 

Was gibt es zu gewinnen?

Die sieben Preisträgerinnen erhalten jeweils ein Förderpaket für Fort- und Weiterbildungsmaßnahmen im Gesamtwert von bis zu 1.500 EUR. Gemeinsam mit den Gewinnerinnen entscheiden wir, welche Förderung für sie individuell oder ihre Gruppe/Organisation geeignet ist.

 

Warum Frauen?

SDG2 (Kein Hunger) und SGD5 (Geschlechtergleichstellung) sind aufs Engste miteinander verknüpft. Gerade in ländlichen Regionen sind Frauen Schlüsselpersonen für nachhaltige Entwicklung. Sie spielen eine zentrale Rolle bei der Verwirklichung wirtschaftlicher, ökologischer und sozialer Veränderungen.

Die Stärkung von Frauen ist nicht nur für das Wohlergehen von Einzelpersonen, sondern auch für Familien und ländliche Gemeinschaften und die Ernährungssicherung von wesentlicher Bedeutung. Nach Schätzungen der Welternährungsorganisation (FAO) könnten weltweit rund 150 Millionen Menschen vor Hunger bewahrt werden, wenn Bäuerinnen in Entwicklungsländern die gleichen Mittel und Möglichkeiten für ihr landwirtschaftliches Engagement erhalten würden wie Bauern. Fördern wir Frauen in der Landwirtschaft, hat unser aller Entwicklungsarbeit eine deutlich größere Aussicht auf nachhaltige Ergebnisse und Wirkungen.

10 Jahre vor dem Zieljahr 2030 der Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) gibt es Erfolge zu verzeichnen. Dennoch sind Frauen ihren männlichen Peers in vielen Bereichen nach wie vor nicht gleichgestellt. Sie haben es schwerer bei Land- und Beteiligungsrechten, ihr Zugang zu Ressourcen ist schwieriger. Sie erfahren weniger Wertschätzung, und sie leiden vielerorts unter höherer Ernährungsunsicherheit als Männer.

Wie verstärkt es die Wirkungen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit im ländlichen Raum, wenn wir Frauen mehr Chancen einräumen? Welche Fortschritte für SDG2 und ländliche Entwicklung kann es geben, wenn wir Gleichstellung besser fördern? Antworten darauf und Inspiration liefert der „Game Changers“-Prozess.

 

Wie kann man eine Nominierung abgeben?

Folgen Sie dem Link unter Nominierung abgeben und füllen Sie das Formular vollständig aus.
Einsendungen werden bis zum 14. Juni 2020 entgegengenommen.

 

Nominierung abgeben

 

 

Wer steht hinter „Game Changers – Women in Agriculture“?

„Game Changers – Women in Agriculture“ wurde vom Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) initiiert. Die Durchführung und Koordination des „Game Changers“-Prozesses übernimmt die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ GMBH) im Auftrag des BMZ.

 

Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an das Sektorvorhaben Zukunftsfähige Ländliche Räume, Rural.Development@giz.de. Ansprechpartnerin: Dorothea Hohengarten.

 

Was gibt es noch zu beachten?

Eine Auszahlung des Preises in Form von Geldwerten ist nicht möglich – weder bar noch elektronisch. Eine Rückgabe des Gewinns ist ebenfalls ausgeschlossen. Gewinnansprüche sind nicht übertragbar. Der Rechtsweg ist ausgeschlossen.