Food Systems

An Artikel by Jan Rübel

How can we reach more people with successful approaches to food security? In Berlin, an international conference organized by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationaler Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) addressed this issue.

An Artikel by the Initiative for Sustainable Agricultural Supply Chains (INA)

A study published by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) examines the differences between globally traded agricultural commodities and domestic niche products in terms of economic, environmental and social impact on the region of origin. The results provide new evidence to make supply chains more sustainable.  

An Interview with Dr. Julia Bellinghausen (IPD)

The Import Promotion Desk (IPD) accompanied organic producers from developing and emerging countries to Biofach. In an interview, Dr Julia Bellinghausen, head of the IPD, explains the importance of organic certification in export promotion.

An Interview with Jochen Flasbarth (BMZ)

Healthy, productive soils are a prerequisite for global food security – one of the priorities of German development cooperation. State Secretary Jochen Flasbarth on Germany’s efforts to support sustainable land management and why the VGGT are more important than ever today.

A Contribution by Agnes Kalibata

Inadequacy and fragility of food systems becomes more apparent with every food crisis. The question we must answer is “Where do we go from here?”

A Contribution by Andreas-Hermes-Akademie

The Andreas Hermes Academy (AHA) discusses the transformation of food systems with 30 representatives of farmers organisations.

An Interview with Shakuntala Thilsted

A conversation with aquatic researcher Shakuntala Thilsted on the long-neglected nutrition benefits of aquatic diets and the empowering qualities of a sustainable aqua-food systems transformation.

An infographic by ONEWORLD no Hunger

Rising food and gas prices, physical destruction and supply chain disruptions: Why the Black Sea region matters and how the war in Ukraine affects global food security.

A Contribution by GIZ

How nutrition trainer Edwige helps cocoa farmers in Côte d’Ivoire to prepare for a healthier future.

A Video Series by Agribusiness TV and GIZ

Share in the taste of African Nutrition – Try it at home! The mini-series showcases traditional, nutritious dishes across the African continent.

A Contribution by IFPRI

Taking a look at the data (as of February 11th 2022) what the current price hike means for world hunger and what can be done to prevent from another food crisis.

A Story by GIZ

Until Easter 2022, GIZ publishes a new episode every fortnight introducing people who are committed to fair and sustainable cocoa in Côte d'Ivoire and Germany.

An Interview with Shamika Mone (INOFO) and Elizabeth Nsimadala (EAFF)

At the UN Food Systems Summit, farmers organizations have been represented on the international stage for the first time ever. Two representatives talk about bridging personal aspirations with the representation of regional needs and international negotiations.

A Contribution by the TMG Think Tank for Sustainability

Towards integrated accounting standards in the food and farming sector with the help of True Cost Accounting (TCA).

A Contribution by the Forestry Research Institute Nigeria

The 'Domestication of Small Monogastric and Ruminant Animals' (DSMR) project led by a Nigerian research institute works with local communities to solve the bushmeat crisis.

A Contribution by Jan Grossarth

Genetically modified bacteria become edible proteins, cows graze on pasture, and no waste is produced in an industrial circular economy. Journalist Jan Grossarth sees a silver lining for the future of world nutrition

An interview with Jan Plagge (Bioland)

Vitamin-poor nutrition must become more expensive, in-vitro meat is not a panacea, and agricultural systems should be more decentralised. Bioland President Jan Plagge in an interview about the challenge of (future) world nutrition.

An interview with Peter McFeely (WWF)

The WWF has published a sensational study on food waste. The focus: farm-stage food waste. Peter McFeely, Global head of communications and strategic planning at WWF, explains what needs to be done.

An interview with David Brand (GIZ)

From a circular food system in Rwanda to functioning cooled transports in Kenya: The lab of tomorrow addresses development challenges such as preventing food loss and waste

A contribution by GIZ

In Zambia, innovative approaches are used to address the problem of post-harvest losses in the groundnut value chain. GIZ's Rapid Loss Appraisal Tool (RLAT) can help to develop more such approaches.

Interview with Martina Fleckenstein (WWF), Michael Kühn (WHH) and Christel Weller-Molongua (GIZ)

After the summit means pre-summit: It was the first time that the United Nations held a summit on food systems. Martina Fleckenstein, Michael Kühn and Christel Weller-Molongua reviewed the situation in this joint interview.

An Interview with Francisco Marí (Brot für die Welt)

Brot für die Welt (Bread for the World) did not attend the UNFSS pre-summit. Instead, the organisation took part in a counter-summit that took place at the same time. A conversation with Francisco Marí about the reasons, the process - and an outlook for the future

Interview with Paul Newnham, Director of the SDG 2 Advocacy Hub.

The UN Food Systems pre-Summit in Rome dealt with transforming the ways of our nutrition. How do you bring that to a broad public? Questions to Paul Newnham, the Director of the Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 2 Advocacy Hub.

New insights on trade and value addition in the rice sector in West Africa

Low import tariffs, smuggling activities, unpredictable tax exemptions and weak enforcement of food safety standards: The potential of local rice value chains is undermined in West African countries.

A Contribution by Emile Frison and Nick Jacobs (IPES-Food)

While having failed to solve the hunger problem, industrial agriculture appears to be causing additional ones both in environmental and health terms. Emile Frison and Nick Jacobs call for a transformation.

Interview with Lawrence Haddad (GAIN)

Nutrition experts from all over the world are coming together in Rome. They are not only distilling 2000 ideas to improve food systems - they are also preparing for the big UN summit in New York in September. An interview. 

Interview with Joao Campari (WWF)

Journalist Jan Rübel spoke with Joao Campari ahead of the UNFSS Pre-Summit. The Chair of Action Track 3 highlights key challenges in transforming existing food systems towards sustainable production and shares his expectations for the Summit.

Livestock farming in Burkina Faso (c) GIZ/Jörg Böthling

A contribution by Irene Hoffmann (FAO)

In this article, the author describes what we know about interlinkages, what role agriculture has to play in the sustainable use and conservation of biodiversity, and what the necessary changes in agricultural systems might look like, both on small and large-scale farms.

A study by Markus Hanisch, Agustina Malvido, Johanna Hansmann, Alexander Mewes, Moritz Reigl, Nicole Paganini (SLE)

Post-Covid-19 lockdown: How food governance processes could include marginalised communities - an extract of the results of an SLE study applying digital and participatory methods.

A report by Johanna Steinkühler (GIZ)

The soybean is a natural crop that can be used to make a lot of food. So, Tata Bi started a small processing business first on her own, then with a few other women, which provides the women with an additional source of income year-round besides selling the soybeans.

A study by SLE

The lockdown due to COVID-19 hit the economy hard - including agriculture in particular with its supply chains and sales markets. What creative coping strategies have those affected found? The Seminar for Rural Development has begun a research study on th

A contribution by GIZ

There is a multitude of reasons why we should value fish, small-scale fisheries, and artisanal aquaculture. We have put together 24 reasons to love fish to highlight the importance of the sector for culture and identity, food security, health, livelihoods, economic security and the sustainable management of natural resources.

© Dorothea Hohengarten, GIZ

Interview with Adriano Campolina (FAO)

For years, place-based approaches to development have been considered important features in development cooperation, at the BMZ and in FAO. Both organisations are aiming at advancing these approaches: an interview with Adriano Campolina from the FAO on territorial and landscape perspectives.

Kisumu in Western Kenya: Landing of the small sardines on the shore of Lake Victoria. © Dirk Ostermeier, GIZ

A contribution by Paul van Zwieten

African inland fisheries are increasingly reliant on the capture of small fish species that are sundried and traded over long distances. They make an important contribution in alleviating “hidden hunger”: consumed whole, small fish are an important source of micronutrients. Only that, unfortunately, politicians haven’t yet realised this.

A debate between Lena Luig and Ludger Weß

What are the consequences of using synthetic pesticides in agriculture? Where do they help, where do they harm? Lena Luig, expert for the development policy organization INKOTA, and science journalist Ludger Weß discuss this controversial topic of international scope.

By Jan Rübel

The Federal Government is fine-tuning a law that would require companies to ensure human rights – a supply chain law. What are the consequences for the agricultural sector? Dr Bettina Rudloff from the German Institute for International and Security Affairs (SWP) discusses linking policy fields with added value.

Double interview with Tony Rinaudo and Volker Schlöndorff

Tony Rinaudo uses conventional reforestation methods to plant millions and millions of trees – and Volker Schlöndorff is filming a cinema documentary about the Australian. The outcome so far: An educational film on behalf of the BMZ (Federal Ministry for Economic Co-operation and Development).

Food market in Abidjan. © GIZ

A contribution by Friederieke Martin (GIZ)

A quick and cost-effective method calculates living wages and incomes for many different countries. The GIZ together with Fairtrade International and Richard and Martha Anker have developed a tool that companies can use to easily analyse income and wage gaps.

A contribution by Dr. Franziska Humbert (Oxfam)

Oxfam’s supermarket scorecard, which is in its third year, shows one thing in particular - it works! Supermarkets can change their business policies and focus more on the rights of those people around the world who plant and harvest food. However, this does not happen without pressure. 

A contribution by Jes Weigelt and Alexander Müller

What is required to make food systems provide sufficient, healthy food while not harming the planet? How should food security be maintained given the threat posed by climate change? Our authors look at some aspects of tomorrow’s food systems against the backdrop of the corona crisis.

A contribution by Ismahane Elouafi (ICBA)

Freshwater deficits are affecting more and more people throughout the world. In order to counter this, our global food system will have to change, our author maintains. A case for more research on alternative crops and smart water solutions.

Interview with Marvin Antonio Garcia Otero

In Eastern El Salvador, campesinos are cultivating a self-image to encourage rural youth to remain in rural areas. With help from Caritas, they have adjusted the cultivation methods to their soils and traditions - Marvin Antonio Garcia Otero,the deputy director of Caritas of the Diocese of San Miguel believes this is the best way to prevent rural exodus and criminality.

A contribution by Dr. Felix zu Löwenstein (BÖLW)

Lack of seasonal workers and virus explosion in slaughterhouses, rising vegetable prices, climate crisis – all this demonstrates: Our food system is highly productive and (at least for the rich inhabitants of planet earth) guarantees an unprecedented rich and steady food supply - but it is not resilient.

© GIZ

A contribution by Kerstin Weber and Brit Reichelt-Zolho (WWF)

Biodiversity and sustainable agriculture ensure the nutrition of whole societies. But there is more: These two factors also provide better protection against the outbreak of dangerous pandemics. Hence, the question of preserving ecosystems is becoming a global survival issue.

A contribution by Sarah D´haen & Alexander Müller, Louisa Nelle, Bruno St. Jaques, Sarah Kirangu-Wissler and Matteo Lattanzi (TMG)

Young farmers’ insights on the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic on food systems in Sub-Saharan Africa @CovidFoodFuture and video diaries from Nairobi’s informal settlements.

© GIZ

A contribution by Dr. May Hokan and Dr. Arnulf Köhncke (WWF)

Due to the coronavirus crisis, the connection between human and animal health has gained new attention. Politicians and scientists are joining forces to propagate the solution: One Health. But what is behind the concept? And can it also guarantee food security for all people worldwide?

Interview with Ben Sekamatte and Boaz Ogola

Africa's cotton production plays a key role in the fight against poverty. The "Cotton Made in Africa" initiative promotes sustainable cultivation - one element of which is the use of organic pesticides. Entomologist Ben Sekamatte and cotton company manager Boaz Ogola talked with Jan Rübel about soil and yields.

(c) Welthungerhilfe

Interview with Shenggen Fan

Shortly before ending his position as Director General of the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPR) Dr. Shenggen Fan talks about the reforms and new modes of operation needed to achieve global food security in the coming decade.

Somalia, IDP-Camp Badbado: Securityguards der Camp-Verwaltung kontrollieren die Essensverteilung.

Interview with Fraser Patterson

Every year in October, the "Welthungerhilfe" aid organisation, with the Irish "Concern Worldwide" NGO, publishes the Global Hunger Index, a tool with which the hunger situation is recorded. What are the trends - and what needs to be done?

(c) Christoph Pueschner/Zeitenspiegel

A contribution by Tanja Reith

At the moment, the agricultural industries of African countries exist in relative isolation. Imagine peasant farmers digitally connected to the value chains of the global food industry. How could this happen? A guidebook.

(c) Klara Palatova/WFP

A contribution by the World Food Programme

There is a clear global task: We need to feed nine billion people by 2050. We, the people of Earth, must produce more food and waste less. That is the top priority of the UN World Food Programme (WFP), too - the description of a challenge.

GIZ study; conducted by Geopoll

Does Africa's youth want to live in the city or in the country? Which career path seems particularly attractive? And how optimistic are the young people about the future? Young adults from rural areas answered these questions by SMS.

Interview with Gnininkaboka Dabiré and Innocent Somé

Later on you want to become a farmer yourself, or would you prefer to take up another profession? Two young people from Burkina-Faso talked to representatives of the Dreyer Foundation about their parents' farms, the profession of farmer and their own plans for the future.

Karel Prinsloo/Arete/Rockefeller Foundation/AGRA

Interview with Joe DeVries (AGRA)

Joe DeVries is a breeder – and Vice President of AGRA (Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa). What are the chances and risks of a ’green revolution‘ in Africa? A discourse between Jan Rübel and him about productivity, needs, and paternalism.

KLAUS WOHLMANN / GIZ

Interview with Stefan Liebing

Stefan Liebing is chairman of the Africa Association of German Business. The manager calls for a better structure of African farms. Jan Rübel asked him about small farmers, the opportunities for German start-ups and a new fund.

(c) Gudrun Barenbrock/GIZ

A contribution by Marwa Shumo

Insect farming is economical and environmentally sustainable, they are high in protein and they live on agricultural waste. Marwa Abdel Hamid Shumo thinks: They are the best weapon to combat hunger

Uli Reinhardt/Zeitenspiegel

A contribution by Frank Brunner

Why aren’t bars of chocolate made where cocoa is grown? Author Frank Brunner analyses the industry’s fragile value chain from the plantation to the supermarket

(c) Welthungerhilfe

Interview with Wase Gubena

Wase Gubena is a senior advisor for the Welthungerhilfe in Ethiopia. Prior to that he worked for USAID and different ministries.

(c) Simon Veith

A contribution by "World Without Hunger"

The future is rural. Young African entrepreneurs gave their generation a vocie during the G-20 conference in Berlin. "World Without Hunger" asked six of them, how more jobs can be created in rural areas.

(c) Thomas Lohnes / Brot für die Welt

A contribution by Stig Tanzmann

Urban gardening is becoming increasingly popular in northern metropoles. People who consider themselves part of a green movement are establishing productive gardens in the city, for example on rooftops or in vacant lots. In severely impoverished regions of the global South, urban agriculture is a component of the food strategy.

Food Systems

Ein Interview mit Shakuntala Thilsted

Die Aquaforscherin Shakuntala Thilsted über die lange vernachlässigten Vorteile einer aquatischen Ernährung, ihre Erfahrungen und Erfolge auf diesem Gebiet, und das emanzipierende Potenzial einer nachhaltigen Transformation solcher Ernährungssysteme.

Eine Infografik von EINEWELT ohne Hunger

Steigende Lebensmittel- und Kraftstoffpreise, physische Zerstörung und Lieferketten-Engpässe: Warum die Schwarzmeer-Region eine entscheidende Rolle spielt, und welche Auswirkungen der Krieg in der Ukraine auf die globale Ernährungssicherheit hat.

Ein Beitrag der GIZ

Wie Ernährungstrainerin Edwige ivorische Kakaobäuerinnen und Kakaobauern fit für eine gesündere Zukunft macht.

Eine Videoreihe von Agribusiness TV und der GIZ

Afrikanische Ernährung zum Mitmachen: Die Mini-Serie „Try it at home!“ präsentiert traditionelle vollwertige Gerichte vom ganzen Kontinent.

Ein Beitrag des IFPRI

Ein Blick auf die Datenlage (Stand 11. Februar 2022) und was getan werden kann um die nächste Lebensmittelpreiskrise zu verhindern.

Eine Reportage der GIZ

Bis Ostern 2022 wird alle zwei Wochen eine neue Folge veröffentlicht, in der die GIZ Menschen vorstellt, die sich für fairen und nachhaltigen Kakao in Côte d’Ivoire und Deutschland engagieren.

Ein Interview mit Shamika Mone (INOFO) und Elizabeth Nsimadala (EAFF)

Auf dem „UN Food Systems Summit‟ im September 2021 waren landwirtschaftliche Verbände zum ersten Mal bis auf die höchste Ebene vertreten. Zwei Vertreterinnen sprechen über die Verbindung von persönlichen Aufgaben mit der Repräsentation regionaler Bedürfnisse und internationalen Verhandlungen.

Ein Beitrag des TMG ThinkTank for Sustainability

Auf dem Weg zu integrierten Bewertungsinstrumenten im Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftssektor mit Hilfe von „True Cost Accounting“ (TCA, Tatsächliche Kosten Berechnung).

Ein Beitrag des Waldforschungs-Instituts Nigeria

Bei dem Projekt „Domestizierung kleiner monogastischer und wiederkäuender Tiere‟ (DSMR), arbeitet ein nigerianisches Forschungsinstitut zusammen mit lokalen Gemeinden an Lösungsansätzen für die Buschfleisch-Krise.

Ein Beitrag von Jan Grossarth

Genveränderte Bakterien, die zu essbaren Proteinen werden. Kühe grasen auf dem Feld und in einer industrielle Kreislaufwirtschaft entsteht kein Abfall. Journalist Jan Grossarth sieht ein Silberstreifen am Horizont für die Zukunft der Welternährung.

Ein Interview mit Jan Plagge (Bioland)

Vitaminarme Ernährung muss teurer werden, In-Vitro-Fleisch ist kein Allheilmittel und Agrarsysteme sollten dezentraler aufgestellt werden. Bioland Präsident Jan Plagge im Interview über die Herausforderung der (zukünftigen) Welternährung.

Ein Interview mit Peter McFeely (WWF)

Der WWF hat eine aufsehenerregende Studie zur Verschwendung von Lebensmitteln erstellt. Im Fokus: Die Verluste in der Landwirtschaft. Was getan werden kann, erläutert Peter McFeely, globaler Leiter der Abteilung Kommunikation und strategische Planung

Interview mit David Brand (GIZ)

Vom Kreislaufsystem in Rwanda bis zur funktionierenden Kühlkette in Kenia: Das lab of tomorrow entwickelt mit einem Open-Innovation Ansatz Lösungen zur Vermeidung von Lebensmittelverschwendung.

Ein Beitrag der GIZ

In Sambia begegnet man dem Problem der Nachernteverluste in der Erdnuss-Wertschöpfungskette mit innovativen Ansätzen. Das Rapid Loss Appraisal Tool (RLAT) der GIZ kann dabei helfen, weitere solcher Ansätze zu entwickeln.

©FAO/Giuseppe Carotenuto

Interview mit Martina Fleckenstein (WWF), Michael Kühn (WHH) und Christel Weller-Molongua (GIZ)

Nach dem Gipfel ist vor dem Gipfel: Zum ersten Mal richten die Vereinten Nationen einen Summit zu Ernährungssystemen aus. Im Interview ziehen Martina Fleckenstein, Michael Kühn und Christel Weller-Molongua gemeinsam Bilanz.

Ein Interview mit Francisco Marí (Brot für die Welt)

Das evangelische Hilfswerk Brot für die Welt beteiligte sich nicht am UNFSS Pre-Summit in Rom. Stattdessen nahm die Organisation an einem Gegengipfel teil, der zeitgleich stattfand. Ein Gespräch mit Francisco Marí über die Gründe, den Ablauf – und wie es nun weitergeht.

Interview mit Paul Newnham, den Direktor des Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 2 Advocacy Hub.

Auf dem Vorgipfel in Rom ging es um die Umgestaltung der Ernährungssysteme. Wie bringt man das einer breiten Öffentlichkeit nahe? Fragen an Paul Newnham, der als Direktor des SDG 2 Advocacy Hub die Öffentlichkeitsarbeit der Gipfel betreut.

Das Sektorvorhaben für Landwirtschaft der GIZ

Chancen nutzen, Herausforderungen weltweit angehen – das will die deutsche Entwicklungspolitik gemeinsam mit innovativen Partnern aus der Wirtschaft. Nur gemeinsam mit der Privatwirtschaft lässt sich ein nachhaltiger und produktiver Agar- und Ernährungssektor schaffen.

Neue Einblicke zur Entwicklung des Handels und der Reiswertschöpfungskette in Westafrika

Niedrige Importzölle, Schmuggelaktivitäten, unvorhersehbare Steuerbefreiungen und eine schwache Durchsetzung von Lebensmittelsicherheitsnormen: Das Potenzial lokaler Reis-Wertschöpfungsketten wird in westafrikanischen Ländern untergraben.

Ein Beitrag von Emile Frison und Nick Jacobs (IPES-Food)

Die industrielle Landwirtschaft hat es bisher nicht geschafft, Probleme wie Hunger oder Mangelernährung zu lösen. Sie scheint vielmehr weitere Probleme zu verursachen. Emile Frison und Nick Jacobs fordern einen Umbau des Ernährungssystems und betonen die Schlüsselrolle der Vielfalt.

Interview mit Lawrence Haddad (GAIN)

In Rom kommen aus aller Welt Ernährungsexperten zusammen. Sie destillieren nicht nur 2000 Ideen, um Ernährungssysteme zu verbessern – sie bereiten auch den großen UN-Gipfel im September in New York vor. Was muss getan werden, damit dieser Gipfel nicht scheitert? Ein Gespräch.  

Ein Beitrag von Irene Hoffmann (FAO)

Irene Hoffmann beschreibt, was wir über die Zusammenhänge wissen, welche Rolle die Landwirtschaft bei der nachhaltigen Nutzung und Erhaltung der Biodiversität spielen muss und wie der notwendige Wandel der Agrarsysteme aussehen könnte.

Interview mit Joao Campari (WWF)

Journalist Jan Rübel hat sich mit Joao Campari im Vorfeld des UNFSS Vorgipfel ausgetauscht. Der Vorsitzende von Action Track 3 blickt auf wesentliche Herausforderungen bei der Transformation bestehender Ernährungssysteme hin zu einer naturverträglichen Produktion und teilt seine Erwartungen an den Gipfel.

Eine Studie von Markus Hanisch, Agustina Malvido, Johanna Hansmann, Alexander Mewes, Moritz Reigl, Nicole Paganini (SLE)

Nach dem COVID-19-Lockdown: Wie marginalisierte Gemeinschaften in Food-Governance-Prozesse einbezogen werden könnten - eine Zusammenfassung der Ergebnisse einer digitalen und partizipativen Studie des SLE.

Ein Bericht von Johanna Steinkühler (GIZ)

Die Sojabohne ist eine natürliche Ackerfrucht, aus der man ein Menge Lebensmittel herstellen kann. Also startete Tata Bi erst alleine, dann mit einigen anderen Frauen einen kleinen Weiterverarbeitungsbetrieb, der den Frauen ganzjährig eine zusätzliche Einnahmequelle neben dem Verkauf der Sojabohnen bietet.

Eine Studie des SLE

Der Lockdown wegen COVID-19 traf die Wirtschaft stark - darunter besonders die Landwirtschaft mit ihren Lieferketten und Absatzmärkten. Welche kreativen Umgangsstrategien haben die Betroffenen dabei gefunden? Das Seminar für ländliche Entwicklung hat hierzu eine Forschungsstudie begonnen.

Ein Beitrag der GIZ

Es gibt eine Vielzahl von Gründen, warum wir Fisch, Kleinfischerei und handwerkliche Aquakultur lieben sollten. Wir wollen mit Ihnen 24 Gründe teilen und Ihre Aufmerksamkeit auf die Bedeutung dieses Sektors lenken und die damit verbundene Kultur, dessen Wert für Ernährungssicherheit, Gesundheit und nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung natürlicher Ressourcen.

© Dorothea Hohengarten, GIZ

Interview mit Adriano Campolina (FAO)

Ortsbasierte Entwicklungsansätze galten über Jahre als wichtige Merkmale der Entwicklungskooperation des BMZ und in der FAO. Beide Organisationen arbeiten verstärkt daran, diese Ansätze weiterzuentwickeln: ein Interview mit Adriano Campolina von der FAO zu territorialen und landschaftlichen Perspektiven.

Kisumu in Westkenia: Anlandung der kleinen Sardinen am Ufer des Viktoriasee. © Dirk Ostermeier, GIZ

Ein Beitrag von Paul van Zwieten

Die afrikanische Binnenfischerei ist zunehmend auf den Fang kleiner Fischarten angewiesen, die sonnengetrocknet über weite Distanzen gehandelt werden. Sie leisten einen wichtigen Beitrag gegen "versteckten Hunger": Im Ganzen verzehrt sind Kleinfische eine wichtige Quelle für Mikronährstoffe. Nur hat dies die Politik leider noch nicht erkannt.

Ein Streitgespräch zwischen Lena Luig und Ludger Weß.

Was sind die Folgen des Einsatzes von synthetischen Pestiziden in der Landwirtschaft? Wo helfen, wo schaden sie? Über dieses Reizthema globaler Bandbreite diskutieren Lena Luig, Referentin bei der entwicklungspolitischen Organisation INKOTA, und Wissenschaftsjournalist Ludger Weß.

Interview mit Bettina Rudloff

Die Bundesregierung feilt an einer Verpflichtung privater Akteure zur Einhaltung von Menschenrechten – ein Lieferkettengesetz. Was sind die Folgen für den Agrarsektor? Dr. Bettina Rudloff von der Stiftung Wissenschaft und Politik über die Verkettung von Politikfeldern und Wertschöpfung.

Doppelinterview mit Tony Rinaudo und Volker Schlöndorff

Tony Rinaudo sorgt mit traditionellen Wiederaufforstungsmethoden für Abermillionen von Bäumen in Afrika – und Volker Schlöndorff dreht eine Kinodokumentation über den Australier. Ein Zwischenergebnis: Ein Lehrfilm im Auftrag des Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung.

Ein Beitrag von Friederieke Martin (GIZ)

Eine schnelle und kostengünstige Methodik berechnet existenzsichernde Einkommen und Löhne für eine Vielzahl an Ländern. Die GIZ hat zusammen mit Fairtrade International und Richard und Martha Anker ein Instrument zu geben, mit dem Unternehmen Einkommens- und Lohnlücken einfacher analysieren können.

Ein Beitrag von Dr. Franziska Humbert (Oxfam)

In seinem dritten Jahr zeigt der Supermarkt-Check der Organisation Oxfam vor allem einen klaren Trend auf: Es geht! Supermärkte im Norden können ihre bisherigen Geschäftspolitiken ändern und stärker auf die Rechte derjenigen Menschen in aller Welt ausrichten, die Lebensmittel anbauen und ernten. Es geht aber nicht ohne Druck. 

Ein Beitrag von Jes Weigelt und Alexander Müller

Was ist erforderlich, damit die Ernährungssysteme ausreichende und gesunde Nahrung liefern, ohne dabei unserem Planeten zu schaden? Wie lässt sich Ernährungssicherheit trotz der Bedrohung durch Klimawandel aufrechterhalten? Unsere Autoren betrachten einzelne Aspekte unserer zukünftigen Ernährungssysteme im Kontext der Coronakrise.

Quinoa could have a huge potential in Central Asia, where the Aral Sea Basin has been especially hard-hit by salinisation.
Quinoa could have a huge potential in Central Asia, where the Aral Sea Basin has been especially hard-hit by salinisation.

Ein Beitrag von Ismahane Elouafi (ICBA)

Süßwasserdefizite betreffen immer mehr Menschen auf der ganzen Welt. Um dem entgegenzuwirken, wird sich unser globales Ernährungssystem ändern müssen, so unsere Autorin. Ein Plädoyer für mehr Forschung zu alternativen Nutzpflanzen und intelligenten Wasserlösungen.

Interview mit Marvin Antonio Garcia Otero

Im Osten El Salvadors kultivieren Campesinos ein Selbstbild, das auch die Jugend auf dem Land halten soll. Mit Hilfe der Caritas haben sie die Anbaumethoden ihren Böden und Traditionen angepasst - die beste Versicherung gegen Landflucht und Kriminalität, sagt Marvin Antonio Garcia Otero, der stellvertretende Direktor der Caritas in der Diözese San Miguel.

Indonesien / Borneo, März 2000: Nördlich von Palangkaraya liegen inmitten der verwüsteten Landschaft die Basislager illegaler Holzfäller.(c) Christoph Püschner/Zeitenspiegel
Indonesien / Borneo, März 2000: Nördlich von Palangkaraya liegen inmitten der verwüsteten Landschaft die Basislager illegaler Holzfäller.(c) Christoph Püschner/Zeitenspiegel

Ein Beitrag von Dr. Felix zu Löwenstein (BÖLW)

Ausbleibende Saisonarbeitskräfte und Virenexplosion in Schlachthöfen, steigende Gemüsepreise, Klimakrise - all das macht deutlich, was eigentlich schon seit Jahrzehnten klar ist: unser Ernährungssystem ist zwar hoch produktiv. Es ist aber nicht resilient.

© GIZ

Ein Beitrag von Kerstin Weber und Brit Reichelt-Zolho (WWF)

Biologische Vielfalt und nachhaltige Landwirtschaft sichern die Ernährung von Gesellschaften. Und sie schützen auch besser vor dem Ausbruch von Pandemien. Der Erhalt von Ökosystemen wird so zur globalen Überlebensfrage.

Ein Beitrag von Sarah D´haen & Alexander Müller, Louisa Nelle, Bruno St. Jaques, Sarah Kirangu-Wissler und Matteo Lattanzi (TMG)

Einblicke junger Landwirte in die Auswirkungen der COVID-19-Pandemie auf die Ernährungssysteme in Subsahara-Afrika @CovidFoodFuture und Videotagebücher aus Nairobis informellen Siedlungen.

© GIZ

Ein Beitrag von Dr. May Hokan und Dr. Arnulf Köhncke (WWF)

Durch die Corona-Krise erlangt die Verbindung von Mensch-Tier-Gesundheit neue Aufmerksamkeit. Politik und Wissenschaft propagieren nun die Lösung: One Health. Was steckt hinter dem Konzept? Und kann man damit auch die Ernährungssicherheit für alle Menschen weltweit garantieren?

Interview mit Ben Sekamatte und Boaz Ogola

Afrikas Baumwollanbau hat eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Bekämpfung von Armut. Die Initiative “Cotton Made in Africa” fördert den nachhaltigen Anbau. Ein Element davon: die Anwendung biologischer Pestizide. Insektenkundler Ben Sekamatte und der Baumwollgesellschaftsmanager Boaz Ogola sprachen mit Jan Rübel über bessere Böden und höhere Ernten.

Washington,2011: International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) Director General Shenggen Fan.

Interview mit Shenggen Fan

Kurz vor dem Ausscheiden aus seinem Amt als Generaldirektor des IFPR spricht Shenggen Fan über nötige Reformen und Vorgehensweisen, um die globale Ernährungssicherheit im kommenden Jahrzehnt zu erreichen. Für SEWOH zieht der Agrarexperte Bilanz - was ist nun zu tun?

Somalia, IDP-Camp Badbado: Securityguards der Camp-Verwaltung kontrollieren die Essensverteilung.

Interview mit Fraser Patterson

Jeden Oktober veröffentlicht die Organisation „Welthungerhilfe“ den Welthunger-Index, mit dem die Hungersituation erfasst wird. Was sind die Trends – und was muss unternommen werden? Fraser Patterson ist Referent für Welternährung und beschäftigt sich mit dem Index.

(c) Christoph Pueschner/Zeitenspiegel

Ein Beitrag von Tanja Reith

Bisher agiert Landwirtschaft in Afrika wie allein vor sich hin. Kleinbäuer*innen, digital verknüpft mit den globalen Wertschöpfungsketten in der Nahrungsmittelindustrie – wie könnte das funktionieren? Eine Anleitung.

(c) Klara Palatova/WFP

Ein Beitrag des World Food Programme

Bis 2050 müssen neun Milliarden Menschen genügend zu essen haben. Als Weltbevölkerung müssen wir mehr Nahrungsmittel produzieren und weniger verschwenden. Das ist auch die oberste Priorität des UN World Food Programme (WFP).

Eine Studie der GIZ - realisiert von Geopoll

Will Afrikas Jugend in der Stadt leben oder auf dem Land? Welcher Karriereweg erscheint besonders attraktiv? Und wie optimistisch blicken die Jungen in die Zukunft? Per SMS beantworteten junge Erwachsene aus dem ländlichen Raum diese Fragen.

Ein Interview mit Gnininkaboka Dabiré und Innocent Somé

Später einmal selbst Landwirt werden, oder doch lieber einen anderen Beruf ergreifen? Zwei Jugendliche aus Burkina-Faso sprachen mit Vertretern der Dreyer-Stiftung über die Höfe ihrer Eltern, das Berufsbild Bauer und die eigenen Zukunftspläne.

Karel Prinsloo/Arete/Rockefeller Foundation/AGRA

Interview mit Joe DeVries (AGRA)

Joe DeVries ist Züchter – und Vizepräsident von AGRA (Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa). Was sind die Chancen und Risiken einer „Grünen Revolution“ in Afrika? Ein Gespräch zwischen Jan Rübel und ihm über Produktivität, Bedarf und Paternalismus.

© Klaus Wohlmann/GIZ

Interview mit Stefan Liebing

Stefan Liebing ist Vorsitzender des Afrika-Vereins der deutschen Wirtschaft. Der Manager fordert eine bessere Struktur von afrikanischen Agrarbetrieben. Ein Gespräch mit Jan Rübel über Kleinbauern, die Chancen für deutsche Start-Ups und einen neuen Fonds.

(c) Privat

Ein Beitrag von Iris Manner (World Vision)

Waldrodungen schaden Mensch und Umwelt. Mit Baumschulen können Bauern Geld verdienen und dabei Gutes tun. Man muss nur wissen, wie es geht. Iris Manner, Medienreferentin bei World Vision Deutschland, gibt einen Einblick.

(c) Gudrun Barenbrock/GIZ

Ein Beitrag von Marwa Shumo

Insekten lassen sich klima- und unweltfreundlich züchten, sind reich an Proteinen und Aminosäuren und ernähren sich von Agrarabfällen. Marwa Abdel Hamid Shumo glaubt: Sie sind die perfekt Waffe gegen den globalen Hunger

Uli Reinhardt/Zeitenspiegel

Ein Beitrag von Frank Brunner

Wieso wird Schokolade nicht dort in Tafeln gegossen, wo auch der Kakao angebaut wird? Autor Frank Brunner analysiert die brüchige Wertschöpfungskette der Branche von der Plantage bis in den Supermarkt.

(c) Christoph Püschner

Ein Beitrag von Bettina Rühl

Einheimischer Reis kostet in Togos Hauptstadt Lomé fast doppelt so viel wie die importierte Ware aus Thailand. Doch es gibt gute Gründe, das lokale Produkt zu bevorzugen.

(c) Christoph Püschner/Zeitenspiegel

Interview mit Alfred Ritter

Ritter Sport kennt jedes Kind in Deutschland. Die meisten Kinder, die auf westafri-kanischen Plantagen Kakao ernten, haben dagegen noch nie Schokolade gegessen. Kann ein Schokoladenfabrikant die Welt ändern? Ein Gespräch mit Alfred Ritter über Macht und Ohnmacht eines Unternehmers.

(c) Privat

Ein Beitrag von Dorothea Hohengarten (GIZ)

Eine Gruppe Landloser in Äthiopien verarbeitet Lebensmittel und schafft sich damit eine Zukunft. Dorothea Hogengarten berichtet, wie die GIZ Menschen im nordäthiopischen Bundesstaat Tigray dabei unterstützt, sich besser zu ernähren.

(c) Welthungerhilfe

Interview mit Wase Gubena

Wase Gubena ist Senior Berater für das Pastorale Programme im Welthungerhilfe Büro in Äthiopien. Zuvor arbeitete er unter anderem für die Behörde der Vereinigten Staaten für internationale Entwicklung (USAID) und verschiedene Ministerien.

Interview mit Birgit Wilhelm (WWF)

Im Jahr 2050 werden laut Schätzungen neun Milliarden Menschen die Erde bevölkern. WWF-Landwirtschaftsexpertin Birgit Wilhelm erklärt, wie wir es schaffen könnten, alle zu ernähren.

(c) Thomas Lohnes / Brot für die Welt

Ein Beitrag von Stig Tanzmann (Brot für die Welt)

Urban Gardening findet immer mehr Anhänger. Menschen, die sich als Teil einer grünen Bewegung sehen, legen auf städtischen Flächen Nutzgärten an. In Gegenden großer Armut im globalen Süden ist urbane Landwirtschaft Teil einer Ernährungsstrategie.